Pauline Spirit


God’s “sufficient” grace
February 2, 2008, 9:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

A tip of the hat to Gabrielle for this reference. It comes from Abbot Joseph in Redwood City, CA. The good Abbot is commenting on St. Paul’s second letter to the Corinthians–the part where Paul recounts his “thorn in the flesh.” Paul says that when he asked to be relieved of it, the Lord said, “My grace is sufficient for you.”

The Abbot writes, “Maybe we should get the maddening part out of the way first. Sometimes when the Lord says to me that his grace is sufficient, I’m tempted to retort: “No it’s not!” (But I try to restrain myself, since I tend to suffer from ‘foot in mouth’ disease.) At least it doesn’t often seem like it is sufficient…” Read the whole witty and deep reflection here.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hello, Sr. Anne! I came over from Veritas’ the other night, but it was to your Nunblog site. I just found this site tonight! You are very busy! I am going to try to put your Pauline widget up, but sometimes at St. Blog’s we are not able to install things that people are able to elsewhere. If it doesn’t work, I will try to put it up on my new Consecrated to Mary blog, which is at WordPress.

Comment by Gabrielle

I hope it works! I am having trouble posting it on WordPress, unfortunately. (It would probably be easy if I could afford the fees WordPress charges for making template changes, but I have no budget at all!)

Comment by paulinespirit

I haven’t been able to get it to go into my sidebar, either at St. Blog’s or at WordPress.com; same situation as yourself, Sr…… (no $$$) for WordPress.org!

Comment by Gabrielle

I’m thinking of switching this blog to blogger, where it can have more than 8.5 point type…

Comment by paulinespirit

You can change the font size using HTML codes (you can see instructions in the WordPress FAQ) when you write your posts, but it’s a pain to have to do that all the time. But you might just want to try a different WordPress template until you find one with a font size you like.

Comment by Gabrielle

http://paulinelaity.blogspot.com/

Comment by margaret




Leave a Reply

